IMG_1403-520x300.jpg

Killing it on the conscious stage…

Shay D carries a fiery young woman’s persona. Influences of Persian poetry through to 90s rap can be heard in her content and delivery and she’s an authentically underground artist who tells it like it is.
www.shaydmusic.com/bio/

“Growing up, I had to defend my mother in a country where racism is passively quite rife and English was her second language, and seeing the struggle of poorer families in communities really pushed my passion for justice and I hated seeing people suffer. My mother and I were victims of gentrification, being evicted from our property that led us going through the homelessness system (covered in my song “Not The Chicken Shop Man”). Gentrification is at a peak right now in the capital and causing a lot of communities coming together to fight the system. I developed a very opinionated view of social flaws as well as a love of the multi-cultural aspect of the capital, which embraces races and religions highly compared to the rural regions of the UK. I do love London and its art scene, the city doesn’t sleep and is constantly reinventing itself, which I appreciate.”

http://thesource.com/2016/07/13/rappers-shay-d-and-kingpin-are-londons-love-jones/
Catch Shay D on the Central Park stage at GTA:Hive!

gta-shay


 

Leave a Reply

